1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

A malfunctioning or malicious add-on has caused Internet Exp

Discussion in 'Software' started by PrenticeBoyofDerry, 28 Feb 2010.

  1. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,381
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I keep getting this message up when trying to access some sites (non porn, may I add)

    A malfunctioning or malicious add-on has caused Internet Explorer to close this webpage.

    What's up?
    :confused:
     
  2. kevindgas

    kevindgas

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    5,743
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Hedge End Hants
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you've been on those dodgy websites again haven't you :LOL: :LOL: :LOL:
    can't help you on this as i know exactly jack about computer problems!! apart from they are bloody annoying!
     
  3. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,381
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not for want of trying :mad:

    It's been playing up the last couple of days, the page and the PC keeps freezing up and that message comes up.
    I've done scan on the PC no joy. :mad:
     
  4. kevindgas

    kevindgas

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    5,743
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Hedge End Hants
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :LOL: :LOL:
    you could try a restore to previous date, i know that it sometimes helps
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. dave.m

    dave.m

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    1,742
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Make a note of which sites produce this error message so that you can go to them later to check if it still appears.

    To rule out any addon, start IE -> Tools -> Manage Addons in the window, click each addon and select Disable
    When they are all stopped, shut down IE and then start it again and go to one of the sites that produced the error.

    If they open OK then follow the instructions above and enable ONE of the addons and shut IE then try the site again.
    Repeat until you find which one is the culprit.

    If you get them all enabled and no error then fine.
    Post back.
    dave
     
  6. dextrous

    dextrous

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2009
    Messages:
    6,319
    Thanks Received:
    195
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you run any antivirus software (even defender may help with this)?
     
  7. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,381
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You do realise your engaging with a complete idiot!
    I've open internet explorer, gone to tool, but can't find anything to do with manage addons, so i'm stumped! :confused:
     
  8. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,381
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd like to go back to when I was 15, how do I do that :?:
     
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. dave.m

    dave.m

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    1,742
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I should have asked which version of Internet Explorer you are using. My fault, sorry.
    Open IE and click on Help then click About IE. The window that opens will say which version of IE it is, eg, v6.123 or v8.245

    If you do not have v8.0 or above then you should download it from HERE.

    Do that first and then try the sites that you were having problems with and see if they now open without an error message.

    Post back.

    dave
     
  11. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,381
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I run malware and anti spyware scans on the system, but that had no effect.

    I have now just tried to restore the system back to when I was 15 yrs old, but all I could get was a continual loop of my name flashing up and space invaders, it seemed to impress way back then ;)
    But then tried to be more realist, and on the third attempt, restored back 13th of Feb 2010, now everything seems to be as it should, does this mean I am two weeks behind everyone :confused: anyway now back to the dodgy sites.

    Cheers for all the replies
     
  12. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,381
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    dave, I've just done a restore and seems to be working as it was.
    I don't know what the problem was, but couldn't get anything to play on you tube type sites.
    Message informing me java script needed switching on and flash player needed installing, that's the moment I realised something not right, tried to download flash player and then, pages froze and PC slowed down and could not close screens.
    The system is XP
    Do you feel they could still be a problem?
     
  13. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,381
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  14. dave.m

    dave.m

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    1,742
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you check which version of IE yuo have?

    This is how to enable Java Scripting:

    http://support.microsoft.com/gp/howtoscript

    Adobe Flash Player from here:

    http://www.adobe.com/products/flashplayer/productinfo/instructions/#section-1

    Read the instructions and then click the middle download button on the right for the Adobe Flash Player.

    As you have gone back two weeks, open IE -> Tools and click on Windows Updates to get any updates that have been missed because of the system restore. If you are offered download KB976002 right click it and select hide, but don't install it.

    dave
     
  15. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,381
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've just installed v8.0 of your link, that took some time.
    After reboot, could not get anything to work right, emails or IE.
    So rebooted and seems to be fine, but only just got back on line.
    The page looks no different to what I had, so don't know what I had originally.
    Help and support, won't allow me in. Coming up with an internet script error!
     
  16. dave.m

    dave.m

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    1,742
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The reason for upgrading to IE8 is for security reasons. All browsers have weak points and Microsoft keep security updates coming when ever there is a threat that something can get onto your computer. They are, however, stopping updates for IE6 soon so it will become very vulnerable.

    As for the script erors,
    Open IE -> Tools -> Internet Options -> Advanced Tab.
    Scroll down thelist to the Browsing Section.
    Put a tick in the box next to each of these:
    Disable Script Debugging (Internet Explorer)
    Disable Script Debugging (Other)

    That should stop the error message appearing.

    dave
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page