First Post/ Gas/ Cooker/ Boiler/ no idea. Gas Safe?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,
As you can tell that this is my first post, therefore I am not entirely sure whether if I am asking this in the right thread or not.
So, what brings me here. Well, I have been using this site to look for solutions for 2 years, however, this is my first time posting a question.
Issue:
30th July: Cooker stops working for a few seconds, usually when you turn on the cooker for sometime, you can smell a lot of gas without putting the fire on, however, there was none/ very low smell of gas coming out of the cooker.
9pm: Called emergency helpline, engineer comes. Tests everything inside the house, says everything is fine and no issue with pressure e.t.c. The first time he puts the cooker on, it works, however, not all the furnaces light up completely. Engineer tells us that everything is fine and he need to perform one last check on the meter outside, he informs us of this and carries out the test. He comes telling us that there is a 1mb leak on gas pressure test on meter. He informs us that the gas leak is withing the house (from meter to boiler). As you may already have guessed, yes he did cap of the gas completely. He doesn't leave the paper work and comes back to drop it of a few minutes later. He doesn't inform us of whats being done or what should be done, well he did ask me to read the leaflets and the paperwork he gave me.

31th July: I call the National Gas who capped off our gas and question them regarding what I should do and they gave me a set of instructions, which included, getting my boiler services since it has not been serviced in the past 2 years and when the engineer from 'x' company comes to service it, ask the engineer to also find and unblock the leak.