New Consummer unit with one rcd that won't set

M

milllerr

Before |am told off for doing something illegal, I am a qualified electrician (albeit 25 years ago). I've installed a new stacked (12 x 2) MK consumer unit in my house. A part p qualified friend of my will test the system and certify.

I have a 100 mains switch, which feeds some RCBO's, and then two further RCD and associated circuits. However the rcd on the same rail as the RCBO's will not set and keeps tripping, whereas the rcd on the unit below is fine. I've also tried the circuits on the ok rcd, and they work fine. I've swapped over the rcd and still get the same fault. I'm at a loss to understand what is going wrong. Do rcbo's cause ghost tripping and can't be mixed with rcd's?

Sponsored Links
Before |am told off for doing something illegal, I am a qualified electrician (albeit 25 years ago). I've installed a new stacked (12 x 2) MK consumer unit in my house. A part p qualified friend of my will test the system and certify.

I have a 100 mains switch, which feeds some RCBO's, and then two further RCD and associated circuits. However the rcd on the same rail as the RCBO's will not set and keeps tripping, whereas the rcd on the unit below is fine. I've also tried the circuits on the ok rcd, and they work fine. I've swapped over the rcd and still get the same fault. I'm at a loss to understand what is going wrong. Do rcbo's cause ghost tripping and can't be mixed with rcd's?

were, were a qualified electrician - now your just dangerous.

could have a borrowed neutral somewhere, but this would've shown up during the testing of course, so it can't be that can it!! ;)

You have RCBO's fed from an RCD? I understand that's what you've done and if so, why?
There's no benefit to doing that so you should either use RCBO's fed from a main switch (not RCD) or MCB's fed from an RCD.

Borrowed neutral or crossed neutrals sounds like a reasonable start.

Sponsored Links