1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Replacement Intergas RF Module?

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Ian H, 30 Mar 2019.

  1. Ian H

    Ian H

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    7,037
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    Rochdale
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I’ve just put a new desk in the room with the router, unplugged the InTouch Module and the connection to the circuit board came off with it.

    It’s just about a year old and the first time it’s been unplugged so i’m going to ask the merchants where I got it if they will replace it.

    If they won’t do I need to replace it like for like? Is there a better one that would replace it? Where would I get one?

    Thanks

    70D15276-DEF3-4E3A-9094-2597647B6DC3.jpeg
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Dan Robinson

    Dan Robinson

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    56,034
    Thanks Received:
    9,420
    Location:
    Hertfordshire & London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have seen them resoldered.

    You'll need to reconnect the boiler and app if you replace it.

    Not sure if the new black version is on general release yet? @Razor900?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    13,342
    Thanks Received:
    3,077
    Location:
    Daventry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,836
    Thanks Received:
    2,572
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If that connector is physically attached to the PCB by only those four solder pads then the quality of design is pretty poor.

    It would be far better if the socker was fitted using tabs soldered into holes in the PCB

    upload_2019-3-30_12-46-28.png

    If those 4 pads have delaminated from the PCB then repair will be difficult if not impossible.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Ian H

    Ian H

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    7,037
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    Rochdale
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,836
    Thanks Received:
    2,572
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A solution is to use a short USB lead that stays permanent plugged into the box with the weak socket. The other end of this lead is where things get plugged in and out as and when necessary.
     
  8. Ian H

    Ian H

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    7,037
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    Rochdale
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That would work but I should be able to pull the usb out without breaking the box.
     
  9. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,836
    Thanks Received:
    2,572
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes you should be able to....... well a few hundred times at least before the contacts wear.

    That the socket came adrift from the PCB is un-acceptably poor quality design and/or assembly
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Gasguru

    Gasguru

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    12,451
    Thanks Received:
    3,308
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You've got a 2 year warranty...print the EU directive and show the merchant.
     
  12. Dan Robinson

    Dan Robinson

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    56,034
    Thanks Received:
    9,420
    Location:
    Hertfordshire & London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why do you want to keep unplugging it?
     
  13. Ian H

    Ian H

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    7,037
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    Rochdale
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don’t want to.
     
  14. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,521
    Thanks Received:
    9,721
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is not a moving part so it cant go wrong :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
     
  15. Razor900

    Razor900

    Joined:
    16 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    5,769
    Thanks Received:
    2,261
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just call them on Monday I'm sure they will replace it.

    No idea about the black ones Dan, they've been imminent for about a year!

    Sounds familiar :LOL::LOL::LOL::LOL:
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. Ian H

    Ian H

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    7,037
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    Rochdale
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, i’ll call them on Monday.

    Until then how can I turn the heating on?
     
  17. Razor900

    Razor900

    Joined:
    16 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    5,769
    Thanks Received:
    2,261
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The thermostat will still work as it's bound directly to the boiler but you won't have a heating schedule (timeclock)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page