Speed awareness course or fine and three points?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
At the risk of coming across as an arrogant prat, here is the background:

During the 37 years I’ve been driving I’ve spent 12 years riding motorcycles and have driven 3 ton trucks with air brakes, a wide variety of cars and vans including driving for delivery firms and car hire firms, minibuses and around 3 years living and driving in France including an entire ski season and several holidays driving on snow in the Alps. I have completed the IAM driving course and been told that my technical driving skills are excellent but that I would not pass the IAM test because I am not adhering to the set “system” of sequences of actions on approaching a road hazard. I have extensive off-road driving experience in the UK and Africa and have driven high-performance cars on a race track. During those 37 years I have never had an accident although I have been rear-ended once so I think I can claim I’m a reasonably experienced and safe driver.