1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

windows 8 wifi connection problems

Discussion in 'Software' started by bittu, 18 Oct 2013.

  1. bittu

    bittu

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi people windows 8 hasn't lived up to the hype it showed on commercials.
    the main problem people are having is wifi problems which keeps going to a limited connection where the wireless icon in the task bar has a yellow triangle with a ! in it and it also says limited no internet access.
    what microsoft hasn't told you is that the problem is with the wireless adapter there is a option in the wireless task manager that says turn of this device when not in use.
    heres how to sort that problem out...
    1, place your pointer on the wireless icon in your task bar and right click on it
    2, select the open network and sharing option
    3, when you've chosen that option on the right hand side it should say your wifi ssid click on that and it should open the wireless status box
    4, in wifi status box click properties the one at the bottom and that should bring up wireless properties
    5, click on configure and that will open a box that says wireless network adapter settings
    6, choose the power management option
    7, there is an option that says allow the computer to turn off this device to save power
    8, click the box so the tick is not visible in other words de select that option
    9, close the the open windows
    10 , restart the computer and hey presto no more limited signs but you must restart the pc
    now enjoy uninterrupted internet access


    thank you thought id share this with you as certain IP providers charge £50 to send an engineer out
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. CylonRaider

    CylonRaider

    Joined:
    8 Jul 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not a Windows user but I'm sure your little "How-To" will help several people so have a "Thanks" from me.

    According to my elder Brother it takes some digging to find out how to do an actual "Hard-Reboot" so perhaps you can amend your "How-To" with that little tid bit ?

    Regards

    Paul
     
  4. bittu

    bittu

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thank you for your input but what do you want to reboot? harddrive,router or something else?
     
  5. jockscott

    jockscott

    Joined:
    14 May 2013
    Messages:
    2,179
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    East Lothian
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seriously, you don't know how to re-start your computer ? Because that's what the OP mentions in his post. (I reckon your brother is telling you lies) ;) ;)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. bittu

    bittu

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok if your using win 8 upgrade free to win 8.1 when down load is complete do the same as in prev post and then restart again works even better.plus on your router check what channels other users are using and choose a channel that no one is using and select mode from b/g/n to b/g
    it will work its just trial and error until you find a setting that suits you
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. Monkeh

    Monkeh

    Joined:
    25 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    4,149
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Really? You're advising people to make things slower?
     
  9. CylonRaider

    CylonRaider

    Joined:
    8 Jul 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I clearly stated that I don't use windows.

    I'm a Linux aficionado.

    I'd
    [code:1]sudo reboot or halt[/code:1]

    My brother told me that Win 8 only sleeps/hibernates when switching off. To do an actual hard reboot needs some digging to find, hence my question !

    I guess I'd better simply google it myself just for the knowledge.

    Not that I'm ever going to need it !
     
  10. Astra99

    Astra99

    Joined:
    1 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    898
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  11. jockscott

    jockscott

    Joined:
    14 May 2013
    Messages:
    2,179
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    East Lothian
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  12. bittu

    bittu

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    my bad yes u can use ALT+F4 to do a full system shut down or restart etc etc
    and in reply to jockscott the restart option is there just sign out then click power icon and the option is there :LOL:
     
Loading...

Share This Page