1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

how to fit new light switches onto unidentified cores.

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Robert Hone, 9 Jul 2019.

  1. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,621
    Thanks Received:
    1,994
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,185
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is no such reg. But common sense and good practice says don't do it.

    The UK voltage is 240v and has been since nationalisation. In 2003 some bureaucrats decided to call it 230v but in fact nothing changed.
     
  4. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    66,705
    Thanks Received:
    3,642
    Location:
    Coastal
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    The voltage in my house is 249, so obviously this is the figure I will use on all documents and in all my online posts.

    Right?
     
  5. RF Lighting

    RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    19,618
    Thanks Received:
    1,297
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1FF647FC-8478-44FF-BDE5-DB66FF598301.jpeg
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. scousespark

    scousespark

    Joined:
    18 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was replying to your post saying you do this for all switches and sockets and that this is required in Ireland. BS7671 covers the UK and this blanket requirement does not apply.
     
  7. scousespark

    scousespark

    Joined:
    18 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you go to a customer and see this socket, do you code it?
    If the customer wants a socket, usually in the loft, do you say “I’m sorry BS7671 says I can take a feed from the loft light, but I don’t like that so I’m going to take the feed from a socket in a bedroom or landing and leave you with unnecessary plastering and decorating?”

    240V is within the acceptable range in the UK and Europe, but the nominal voltage is 230. Please just stop.
     
  8. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,185
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would certainly tell him it has to come from the bedroom, yes. The feed can usually go behind or inside a fitted wardrobe.

    The nominal is just a made up figure by bureaucrats who have nothing better to do. 230v is very rarely found in the UK. 240v is the norm. You stop it.
     
  9. scousespark

    scousespark

    Joined:
    18 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You must be turning work down. Instead of running a bit of t&e from a light and printing a couple of labels (totally regs compliant) you would rip a bedroom apart. I have no words.

    I suppose you think cenelec just threw a few numbers in the air and picked 230. In any property in the uk, the voltage will be 216.2 (230 -6%) and 253 (230 +10%). The nominal voltage is 230 which gives the range and is the value used to calculate the load in a single phase circuit. If you use 240 the range changes to 225.6 to 264 and your load calculation is wrong. Please just stop.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,185
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am not a spark and don't do electrical work for customers.

    If you use 240 +5.4% or - 9% the range remains the same and you use the correct figure.

    You could also quote a "nominal" of 120v +210% or +180%.

    Using 230v is obviously wrong unless it is intended to change the supplied voltage and that has not happened in the 16 years since the bureaucrats decided to lie about the voltage.

    Interestingly in most of Europe the voltage has been changed upwards from 220v. Even there it is nearer 240 than 230v. One exception seems to be Budapest which is still 220v.
     
  12. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,621
    Thanks Received:
    1,994
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that is blindingly obvious.

    Come back BAS, all is forgiven,!
     
  13. scousespark

    scousespark

    Joined:
    18 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For crying out loud can a mod shut this bloke up before a member of the public reads his nonsense. BS7671 follows cenelec and for another go at imparting real knowledge, we do not pick random values and tolerances. They are prescribed as 230 -6% to +10%. PLEASE STOP.

    ====================================
    No; Mods aren't experts or authorities.
    ====================================
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 16 Jul 2019
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  14. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,185
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That may be so but IT IS WRONG. UK voltages averages at 240v and has been since nationalisation. Why call it something it isn't?

    You may wish it to be different, but it is a fact.
     
  15. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    23,767
    Thanks Received:
    2,291
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is your name really Winston ? if it isn't then why call yourself Winston

    Think about it, voltage drop, a cable running a mile from the substation. Houses all the way along the cable taking power from the cable, will the voltage at the house nearest the substation be the same as the voltage at the house furthest from the substation ? No it wont be,

    Which end of the cable has the ""correct"" voltage ?

    This is why there is a band of voltages that are acceptable with limits above and below a nominal value,
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,185
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That may be so, but the quoted figure for nominal is wrong.
     
  17. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    34,002
    Thanks Received:
    3,726
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    How can it be? That's what it IS - the NOMINAL.

    I'd like to think you are just being awkward and argumentative for the sake of it, but I don't think that is the case; you are just being a pillock.
     
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...

Share This Page