Newly Qualified Engineer.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone, im a newly qualified engineer and have been out on my own for 6 months now. Im finding the job very stressful (i.e many of the breakdowns) and have just found out about this site. Is there any other engineers in the same position as myself. Some of the boilers out there are driving me bonkers and i am simply pulling my hair out everyday. I can diagnose most system faults e.g choked cold feed, pumps, zone valves but its some of the combis and new condensing boilers that get to me! heres my worst: Ideal Isar and Icos. Glowworm hxi and cxi. Alphas always seem to leak and i hate them. I like Vokeras and pottertons in general.

Just wanted to get this off my chest and see if anyone is in the same situation.

Sponsored Links
Saying "from BG" implies you work for British Gas but that does not seem to be the case.

You say you are "newly qualified" but what does that mean? Just have CEN 1 ? That only means you are safe to work on gas!

What training and background do you have to repair boilers?

Tony

I am Corgi registered. passed my acs last november. Had 1.5 years intensive training with British Gas. Maybe ive said too much already. I think i am doing not bad but i am having some reallly bad days. Ive got a lot to learn.

Welcome here. Usually a helpful bunch. Search facility only seems to work on single words though.
Join ARGI, there's a members only forum which you might find useful. Also see Gas-news, good search facility and if you go into the "Tree Structure" you'll see some boiler specifics.

Sound like you've met the Alpha StyleFF then :LOL:

Sponsored Links
I dont know exactly what your BG training involved but it sounds as if it was mostly the ACS stuff and probably not much boiler diagnostics.

I dont think you should be terribly surprised. It takes about 3 years full time on repairs to become experienced enough to be reasonably confident on the more difficult models.