Justice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
It's incredibly rare for me to share my opinions on social media, but the following has really hit home today.

A truck driver has just been convicted of causing death by dangerous driving after he drove into the back of a young mothers' car at the Dartford river crossing, resulting in her death, because he was watching TV on his 'phone.
If this is not serious enough for you then read on :
He has twice previously been convicted of using a mobile phone whilst driving & had 12 penalty points on his licence, but had been allowed to continue driving due to 'extreme hardship' :censored:

I only hope the magistrates who didn't ban him for those 12 points & the haulage Co. who employed a driver with 12 points on his licence have that woman's death on their conscience for a very long time.
I freely admit, as a retired HGV/PSV driver myself, the injustice surrounding this case has brought tears to my eyes … thank you all for reading my thread.

Sponsored Links
He's not the first and won't be the last truck driver to kill someone whilst distracted on his phone. Why is this more painful than a case where a driver killed a grandmother?

95% of people on here won’t be able to say they have done something they shouldn’t while driving which has distracted them. Lucky in most cases that split second hasn’t killed anyone but when you drive for a living the chances rise. While this is a sad story I don’t believe it’s these individuals who need a worse punishment, the whole system/technology needs to change.

You are saying the judge and haulage co are also responsible. How about the phone maker? Or vehicle manufacturer? They could do more to make sure devices are not used while driving.